This Little Camper.

We bought a camper. It’s just a little camper. It’s new to us, but the sweet little thing is seventeen years old.

Old Doesn’t Mean it Doesn’t Have Value.

Husband and I have looked for years, off and on, for a camper. Why did we never buy one? We couldn’t agree on the size. He wanted a small one. I wanted the Taj Mahal. What can I say?

Then we found This Little Camper.

We had made arrangement to go view a bigger camper, which was an hour drive away. Just before we were to leave, Husband phoned a friend of ours, who owned a little camper, in order to ask what we needed to look for when we went to see this other one.

Our friend said, “You know, I’ve been thinking about selling my little camper. If you’d like to come look at it and see if it’s something you may be interested in.”

Needless to say, I canceled our appointment.

We decided beforehand what the “silent signal” would be if we agreed on whatever camper was “the one.” As soon as we stepped into this little camper, we both gave the silent signal. Of course, our friend had only said he was thinking about selling the camper. Imagine my disappointment when he said to my husband, “Well, I’ll let you know in a couple of days if I decide to sell it.”

We Then Began the Waiting.

In the meantime, some of our friends who have campers started sending me links to campers for sale. My husband though, was holding out for this little camper. I was ready to jump in with both feet and get a camper. All these I was looking at were bigger… which remember, I wanted the Taj Mahal of campers (insert giggle here)! 🤭

You need to know, we had prayed about this. We asked God to let us know if this little camper was the one we should get. And if it wasn’t, to close the door and remove the desire to want one.

We waited impatiently (okay that was on me) for two weeks.

The Waiting is the Hardest Part.

Have you ever noticed that when you’re in a waiting period how impatient you become? Also, you begin seeing things which you may start to believe are “bigger and better” than what you’ve asked God for and are waiting on? Mm hmm.

I’m so thankful my husband was the more patient one on this. I would have had us in a giant fifth-wheel camper that would have been slightly smaller than the house we live in! Hmm. Maybe one day. 😉

We were talking about it one evening (and yes, we did have some intense moments of fellowship in the waiting), when our friend called. He decided to sell the camper. Still, we had to wait another couple of days before we could go get it.

When we brought this little camper home, we sat in it for a day or two, talking about what we wanted to do to “spruce” it up, brighten it up, and make it our own. I mean, bless its little heart, it was outdated, dark, and really just needed some TLC (see what I did there). It definitely needed a little updating.

In addition, we had gone ahead and scheduled our first camping trip with our camping friends. So now we were on a time crunch to get this little camper ready for its maiden voyage.

In the coming days, I will post the renovation of This Little Camper. I think you’ll be sweetly surprised (as we were) with the outcome.

And really… small spaces aren’t so bad. Especially when you’re with someone you love.

Until next time!

𝒮𝒽ℯ𝓁𝓁ℯ𝓎

2 responses to “This Little Camper.”

  1. What did it look like before the renovation?

    Like

    1. That will be in the next post, Jodi.

      Like

Leave a comment